ACHA's partnerships with other national health and higher education organizations help to:

  • enhance resources for the college health field
  • integrate college health into the national agenda

The Board of Directors selects qualified members to act as Association Liaisons. Vacancies are announced via email, and members who are interested can request to be considered for the open liaison position.

Charge to association liaisons:

As a liaison to this organization, you are charged to represent ACHA and the varied interests of college health. It is expected that you will attend requisite meetings and/or conference calls and consult with relevant ACHA sections and coalitions. If you are unable to perform your role, please ensure representation via the alternate or other designee as coordinated through the ACHA Executive Office.

To fulfill your liaison responsibilities, we request a report in January and in April in order to brief the Executive Committee and Board of Directors on key issues, meeting summaries, organizational outcomes and pertinent information about this organization and how this liaison relationship advances the health of college students.

Partnering Organizations

ACHA maintains a liaison relationship with the following organizations:

Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC)

ACHA Liaison
Joy Himmel, PsyD, PMHCNS-BC, LPC, NCC
Ross University School of Medicine
jyh1@psu.edu

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP)

ACHA Liaison
Susan Even, MD
University of Missouri
EvenS@health.missouri.edu

Coalition of Higher Education Associations for Substance Abuse Prevention (CoHEASAP)

Primary ACHA Liaison
Faith DeNardo, PhD, CHES
Bowling Green State University
faithy@bgsu.edu

Alternate ACHA Liaison
Tom Hall, LCSW
University of Central Florida
thomas.hall@ucf.edu

Coalition of National Health Education Organizations (CNHEO)

Primary ACHA Liaison
P. Mickey Irizarry, MA, CHES
American University
irizarry@american.edu

Alternate ACHA Liaison

Julia Rae Varnes, MPH, PhD
University of Florida-Gainesville
jrvarnes@ufl.edu

Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS)

Primary ACHA Liaison
Stacy Andes, MA, EdD
Villanova University
stacy.andes@villanova.edu

Alternate ACHA Liaison
Alicia K. Czachowski, MPH, CHES
Columbia University
akc2155@columbia.edu

Gay and Lesbian Medical Association (GLMA)

Primary ACHA Liaison
Dana Tasson, MD
Portland State University
tassond@pdx.edu

Alternate ACHA Liaison
Shirley Dinkel, APRN
Washburn University
shirley.dinkel@washburn.edu

Higher Education Mental Health Alliance (HEMHA)

ACHA Liaison
John Kolligian, Jr., PhD
Princeton University
JKJR@princeton.edu

The Joint Commission Ambulatory Care Professional and Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC)

Primary ACHA Liaison
Carrie Hogan, MS, ANP-C
Siena College
chogan@siena.edu

Alternate ACHA Liaison
Vacant

Journal of American College Health (Taylor & Francis) 

Executive Editor
Adam Barry, PhD
Texas A & M University
aebarry@hlkn.tamu.edu

Executive Editor
Teri Aronowitz, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC
Boston University and University of Massachusetts Boston
Teri.Aronowitz@umb.edu

Executive Editor
John A. Vaughn, MD
Duke University
john.vaughn@duke.edu

National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA)

ACHA Liaison
Kristen Buglione, MPH, ATC, CHES
Johnson & Wales University-Providence
kristen.buglione@gmail.com

National Collegiate Athletic Association–Female Athlete Triad Coalition (NCAA-FATC)

ACHA Liaison
Catherine O'Neil, MD
Bucknell University
catherine.oneil@bucknell.edu

National Operating Committee for Standards in Athletic Equipment (NOCSAE)

Primary ACHA Liaison
Kenneth Stephens, MD, RPh
University of Cincinnati
stephekw@fuse.net

Alternate ACHA Liaison
John Miller, MD
Indiana University
miller3905@comcast.net